National Newspaper Association

Protecting, Promoting and Enhancing Community Newspapers Since 1885

Login Your Cart

Newspaper Industry News

Press Forward Information Session: Open Call on Closing Local Coverage Gaps

May 16, 2024

Press Forward’s first open call will address the longstanding inequalities in journalism coverage and practice in the U.S., by investing in small, local newsrooms that provide original reporting ...

Read more

El Rito Media acquires Alamogordo Daily News, the Carlsbad Current Argus, and the Ruidoso News

May 15, 2024

Two years ago, a group of Republicans and Democrats, contrarians all, formed El Rito Media LLC for the purpose of undertaking an experiment. Their question was whether a formula could be devised for saving ...

Read more

NNA needs your help — letter regarding postage

May 14, 2024

This summer, the Postal Regulatory Commission will review the regulations that permit USPS to require postage increases twice a year.  NNA needs your help.

Read more

Free requester paper asks readers for donations and is surprised with results

May 1, 2024

What is the harm in asking? As the long saying goes, you don’t know until you try. So here is what we did.

Read more

Impress upon readers the underlying value of public records

May 1, 2024

Consider these examples I encountered during my tenure as editor.

Read more

More ideas on how to generate income for your local newspaper

May 1, 2024

Newspapers must make money to survive, and the principle that “you cannot cut your way to prosperity” should incentivize newspapers to focus on how to bring in more money.

Read more

Preserving history for a big celebration

May 1, 2024

When the town of Apex in North Carolina celebrated its 150th anniversary, the bound volumes of the former weekly newspaper filled in the gaps. 

Read more

NNA Member Alert: US Department of Labor imposes new salary requirements on many newspapers

Apr 23, 2024

Today, the U.S. Department of Labor announced a final ruling on extending mandatory overtime pay, increasing the salary threshold for employees who perform duties that classify them as exempt ...

Read more

Bingo

Apr 18, 2024

Join your NNA friends for Bingo on Thursday, April 18 at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT/6 p.m. MT/5 p.m. PT ⁠

Read more

Web Design and Web Development by Buildable