National Newspaper Association Foundation

The National Newspaper Association Foundation (NNAF) is the educational arm of the National Newspaper Association (NNA). Its mission is to promote news literacy, protect the First Amendment, and enhance the quality, role and capabilities of community newspapers and community journalists.

NNAF Washington News Fellows

This year will be the second year that our NNAF Washington News Fellows program will bring promising college seniors and juniors who are editors of their college newspapers to our nation's capital for a three-day hands-on training session in how to cover complex national issues from a community perspective. You may have seen their articles in PubAux last April or on this website.

Students in this year's program will look at national security and government surveillance. They will interview Capitol Hill experts and Washington opinion leaders on government surveillance, trying to get a handle on how privacy, liberty and security are balanced. They will ask how much Americans know about their government, and who is shaping their opinions. Their mission, as in the 2013 program, will be to detect the official spin on stories and help readers to spot the thin lines between fact and opinion. We are excited about this program. As people who care about journalism, we share the concerns of many who wonder how the social media and blogging will affect a nation traditionally trained to trust journalists for their facts. Teaching news literacy is an important mission for newspapers. This new program adds to NNAF's existing educational mission.

Newspapers In Education

We also help fund NNAF's Newspapers In Education program in partnership with the Missouri Press Foundation to provide serialized fiction and lesson plans for classroom use through 400 newspapers in 19 states.

How you can help

If you are interested in any of these specific programs or would like further information, please contact NNAF President Elizabeth Parker at 908-766-3900 or eparker@newjerseyhills.com. We hope you will include NNAF in your charitable giving this year. NNAF is a 501(c)(3) organization. Your gifts will be fully tax deductible.

Please mail your tax-deductible contribution to: National Newspaper Association Foundation, c/o Carol Pierce, PO Box 5737, Arlington, VA 22205, or call 703-237-9801.

If you would like to donate online to the National Newspaper Association Foundation, click below or contact any of the following individuals:

National Newspaper Association Foundation Trustees (2014-20115)

Officers

Elizabeth (Liz) Parker, NNAF President
Co-Publisher/Executive Editor
New Jersey Hills Media Group
Bernardsville, NJ
eparker@newjerseyhills.com

Jerry Reppert, NNAF Vice President
President, Reppert Publications
Anna, IL
jlreppert@annanews.com

William (Bill) Jacobs, NNAF Treasurer
Jacobs Properties
Brookhaven, MS
wojacobs@icloud.com

Reed Anfinson, NNAF Secretary
Publisher, Swift County Monitor-News
Benson, MN
reed@monitor-news.com

Trustees

Robert F. Sweeney
Publisher and Editor
Villager Newspapers, Inc.
Greenwood Village, CO
bsween1@aol.com

Larry Atkinson
President
Bridge City Publishing Inc.
Mobridge, SD
atkinson@mobridgetribune.com

Kenneth H. Rhoades
Co-Publisher
Enterprise Publishing Company
Blair, NE
krhoades@enterprisepub.com

Allen Beermann
Executive Director
Nebraska Press Association
Lincoln, NE
abeermann@nebpress.com

R. Jack Fishman
President
Lakeway Publishers Inc.
Morristown, TN
copyboy@lcs.net

Merle Baranczyk
Arkansas Valley Publishing Inc.
Salida, CO
merleb@avpsalida.com

Steve Haynes
President
Haynes Publishing Co.
Oberlin, KS
steve.haynes@nwkansas.com

William (Bill) Miller, Sr.
Publisher
Missourian Publishing Company
Washington, MO
billmiller@emissourian.com

Tonda Rush
NNA CEO & General Counsel
Arlington, VA
trush@americanpressworks.com 

Robert M. Williams, Jr.
Pierce County Publishing Company
Blackshear, GA
rwilliams@theblacksheartimes.com

Honorary Trustees

Alan Cruikshank
Publisher
The Fountain Hills Times
Fountain Hills, AZ
alan@fhtimes.com

Dr. Edmund Ghareeb
Professor
Bethesda, MD
edmundghareeb@gmail.com

Will Norton, Jr.
Dean, Meek School of Journalism and New Media
University of Mississippi
University, MS
HWNorton1@gmail.com

Member Login

Login:
Password:
Web Design LVSYS - Copyright © 2015